ICALP 2009
36th International Colloquium on
Automata, Languages and

July 5 - 12, 2009
Rhodes - Greece


EATCS Award (Thursday)

The EATCS Award is awarded in recognition of a distinguished career in theoretical computer science.The recipient of the 2009 EATCS Award is Gérard Huet.

You can read the nomination for the award prepared by the committee (consisting of Catuscia Palamidessi (Chair), Paul Spirakis and Emo Welzl) of the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science in charge of evaluating the nominations to the 2009 EATCS Award.


14:00 -- 14:15 Opening Awards

Catuscia Palamidessi

14:15 -- 14:45 Giorgio Ausiello


Honoring Christos Papadimitriou Scientific Contribution to Computer Science (Wednesday)

During ICALP 09, a special event will take place, in order to honor the mature period of Christos Papadimitriou contribution to CS. Scientific talks on subjects where Christos Papadimitriou, had and continues having a big impact, will be given by the five speakers of this special event.

Invited speakers (in alphabetical order)

Program (Wednesday,July 8, 2009)

16:30 -- 16:40 Opening Remarks

Paul G. Spirakis
Elias Koutsoupias

16:40 -- 17:10 Richard Karp

Title: Some Algorithmic Problems Arising in Systems Biology and Statistical Genetics

17:10 -- 17:40 László Lovász


17:40 -- 18:10 Coffee Break
18:10 -- 18:40 Noam Nisan


18:40 -- 19:10 Tim Roughgarden


19:10 -- 19:40 Mihalis Yannakakis


Event co-chairs
Paul G. Spirakis
Research Academic Computer Technology Institute,
N. Kazantzakis str., 265 00 Rio, Patras, GREECE

Elias Koutsoupias
Dept. of Informatics and Telecommunications, University of Athens,
Panepistimiopolis, Ilissia Athens 15784, GREECE

Best ICALP Paper

Year Awarded Paper Place
2009 Amin Coja-Oghlan Track A: "A better algorithm for random k-SAT" Rhodes
2009 Lars Kuhtz, Bernd Finkbeiner Track B: "LTL Path Checking is Efficiently Parallelizable" Rhodes
2009 Alexander Fanghaenel Thomas Kesselheim Berthold Voecking Track C: "Improved Algorithms for Latency Minimization in Wireless Network" Rhodes

Best Student ICALP Paper

Year Awarded Paper Place
2009 Michael Ummels Dominik Wojtczak Track B: "The complexity of Nash Equilibria in Simple Stochastic Multiplayer Games" Rhodes

Print - Search - Maintained by CTI / RU1
Page last modified on April 13, 2009, at 09:52 AM